Stingray Adventure

This little excursion, wasn’t a planned one as such, it was one we managed to get onto, after being told one of our other preplanned ones got cancelled, due to adverse weather conditions.

We were in a place, which I believe the locals called the stingray retirement home, a place where there were lots of stingrays who all gather together when they get older.

They varied in size, from a couple of feet wide, to some that were easily six feet wide.

These wonderful creatures were amazing, the water was only about waist deep and you could snorkel on the surface, while they literally glided underneath you.

I was a little surprised, when Jánine started… hesitantly, to head towards the ladder from the pontoon down to the water… not begging someone who liked getting in any water, where something else was already alive.

After managing to get down the ladder and into the water, she asked me to give her a piggyback, so she could stay as much as possible out of the water. lol

So there I was, walking around with Jánine on my back and real live stingray’s gliding silently by… not that Jánine was silent, I think I started to go a little (more) deaf with all her screaming in the ear. 😂

She was very brave though, she stood behind me while I held the stingray and the photographer got a quick photo. 👍

He did think it was rather hilarious, rubbing the stingray against her leg once she was back back onboard her piggyback ride… which elicited a few more screams before she headed back to the pontoon.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.